Colinary Tour of Minnesota: The Mediterranean

I bet Spitz Mediterranean Street Food goes through more napkins than any other restaurant in the city. The food here is hands on, fingers in, sauce-all-over delicious.

Specializing in doners (wraps) and french fry baskets loaded up and over with meats, veggies and, of course, sauce, Spitz also offers a nice little drinking atmosphere. I’m currently working on my second Castle Danger Cream Ale, a local craft brew from northern Minnesota, as I type this. The dedication to Minnesota beers is not only obvious; it seems like its the only option. A decent wine selection and a few different Sangria (?) flavors are also available to wash down that street car doner you’re currently struggling to hold together.

It’s located in that grey area between the University of Minnesota campus and the outer edges of downtown Minneapolis, across the Mississippi River on Central and Hennepin Avenues.

20170123_200731

I went for the Street Cart Doner, which was labeled on the menu as their most popular seller. Which to me begs the question, is it the most popular seller because it’s the best thing on the menu or because they labeled it as the most popular seller, thus enticing people to buy it, thus making it the most popular seller? Perhaps we’ll never know. I also ordered a side of waffle-cut sweet potato fries. I’m a sucker for anything waffle-cut.

The doner is served in a wax paper wrapper and cut in half. I found out too late that the best way to go about eating this guy is the tear off the wrapper as you eat it. But I’m just not that patient. I want my dinner and I want all of it. Right now.

The food is great. The lamb and beef combo is tender and soft, yet still a little juicy. The cucumber, tomato and green peppers (I asked for no red onions because I’m a sane human being) are noticeably fresh and crunchy. But the headliner of tonight’s performance is the garlic yogurt sauce that has fully infiltrated every square inch of this doner. Savory, just a touch sweet and resounding – it brings the tender meat and the crunchy veggies together. I was thinking about asking for a side of it as my drink order but there were other people in the restaurant.

Oh by the way I don’t know if I told you but this is an actual restaurant, not a street car. Just making sure.

The interior here is art-deco with abstract, colorful murals splotched over the walls. The main mural is a tribute to….wait for it…I bet you’ll never guess. Prince. They love that man up here. If intriguing, unique chandeliers are your thing then you need to come on down because holy smokes they’ve got the oddest light fixtures I’ve ever seen.

20170123_201253

20170123_200343

One thing I’ve noticed about restaurants and taphouses in Minnesota is their commitment to games – which I appreciate. The couple behind me is duking it out over a game of Battleship while crunching on a fry basket. The dudes across the bar are playing Go Fish. There are several board games behind the bar ready to be used by the patrons. Meanwhile, I’m over here typing on my laptop like a loser.

Well I’m going to go now. This has been fun, let’s do it again sometime.

p.s. I scarfed y food down before I took a picture of it for you to see. I apologize for nothing.

p.p.s. follow my Instagram @thecolinarytour

20170123_193755

 

 

Leave a Reply

